Five on Friday

Good morning, Blogosphere!  For some reason, I absolutely cannot sleep this morning (even though I’m tired?).  So, I’m up earlier than usual, jamming out to the “Sunshine Indie Pop” station on Songza, and thinking about all of the things I love this week.  Here are just five of them.

One |  Let’s just take a minute appreciate all of the gorgeous fresh produce available this time of year.  My favorite? Strawberries.  They seduce me from across the supermarket with that smell.  So far, the best price and quality I’ve found has been at Sam’s Club of all places.  Two pounds of glorious strawberries for under $4?  You’re coming with me.

Two | Last night, I finally watched American Hustle during movie/takeout night with my mom.  First of all, I love all four of the leading actors.  Second of all, the movie was nothing at all like I expected.  Third of all, it was fantastic.  I can definitely understand why some people weren’t crazy about it, but I was.  This ran more along the lines of Oceans Eleven than Goodfellas — no spoilers, I promise!

Three | I’ve written before about my love for podcasts, but this week I discovered the perfect program to marry my love for internet talk shows and food: The Splendid Table.  I know, I’m a little bit late to the NPR train, but better late than never, right?  I love the mixture of food science, question-and-answer, and general food love.  This is definitely going to be a regular show for me!

Four | This morning, I’m taking some time for handwritten notes.  I don’t know about you, but I love getting letters in the mail.  Early this week, I got letters and packages from my friends Michelle and Maci, so I’m going to pop notes in the mail to them today.

stationery

Five | Part of the reason I’m up so early?  Man, am I sore.  I began running outside for the first time yesterday.  I thought I had strong hamstrings, but nope, I was totally wrong.  I’m using Map My Run to track my progress, and I’m thinking of trying a beginner running program like Couch to 5K as well.  Have any beginning runners had luck with that?  Let me know in the comments!

run

Want to join in on Five on Friday?  Just write a post about five things you’re loving and/or want to share, slap the Five on Friday logo on the post, and link up on A.Liz Adventures, Carolina Charm, The Good Life, or Hello Happiness.

One thought on “Five on Friday

  1. I have also been loving strawberries lately, they are just so delicious and hard to resist at the store! I had been surviving off frozen, but fresh are so much better!
    I thought about trying Couch to 5K but decided to just ‘wing it’ and go at my own pace. I’ve heard lots of great stuff about it, and it would probably help with the accountability factor!

Leave a Reply

